School Board Recognition Month

2020 School Board Recognition Month
Posted on 01/08/2020
Xenia Community Schools will join more than 700 school districts throughout Ohio to celebrate January as School Board Recognition Month.

“Our school board members shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices for our district, all with minimal pay,” said Dr. Gabe Lofton. “Their focus is always on the future success of the children in our district, and ensuring that our students are prepared to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow. Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is one way to say thanks for all they do.”

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools. The XCS board is responsible for an annual budget of over $50 million, 4,600 students, 475 employees, and eight school buildings.

Board members serving Xenia Community Schools are: 
  • Dr. Robert Dillaplain – Dr. Dillaplain has been a Board Member since 1994.
  • Jennifer Marietta, Esq. – Mrs. Marietta has been a Board Member since 2016.
  • Cheryl Marcus – Mrs. Marcus served on the XCS Board from 1994-2001, and has been a member again since elected in 2014.
  • Tamara Bartley – Mrs. Bartley has been a member of the XCS Board since 2018, and was elected to a four year term in November 2019.
  • Dr. Pam Callahan – Dr. Callahan has served on the Board since 2016.
School Board meetings are open to the public, and take place on the second Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the Central Office (819 Colorado Drive, Xenia). Agendas, policies, and other public information can be found on

Proclamation from Gov. Mike DeWine:

2020 OSBA Proclamation
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.